This stunning carved oak room panelling is of superior quality, and was reclaimed from Briar Clyffe House in Lowestoft, Suffolk, formerly the home of businessman and philanthropist Howard Hollingsworth.
There is a large quantity of floor to ceiling panelling, and ten large and six small pilasters, the capitals being carved with detailed masks of green men, human faces and demons. Additionally, there are two panelled doors with linen fold insets, six large rectangular panels each carved with a beautiful shell and mask motif, a bar or pay booth, and a spectacular over mantle panel. The latter features a rectangle to the centre, which is elaborately carved with scrolls and foliage. This panel is surrounded by eight smaller square panels, featuring each of the suits from a deck of cards, the ‘HH’ monogram of Howard Hollingsworth, an image of a seal, accompanied by the words ‘Fecit GE’, which we believe to be the makers mark, and the date , the date 1911, which we believe to be the year in which the panelling was created. The oak itself is wonderfully rich in colour, with a truly beautiful patina, and all component parts appear to be in excellent condition
Oak panelling of this calibre is increasingly difficult to find, and this full room represents a rare opportunity to create an interior of unparalleled quality and beauty – ideal for a high end hotel, restaurant or private home.
We think that it is right for the panelling, doors and fireplaces to stay together, therefor they are to be sold as a job lot. Viewing is highly recommended in order to appreciate the beauty and scale of this panelling. We also have another room of quality walnut panelling reclaimed from the same property, which is beautifully carved and in excellent condition. The oak panelling has a frieze dating it to 1911, and we believe the walnut panelling to also date from around this period.
Price upon application.
History of Briar Clyffe and Howard Hollingsworth
One of Lowestoft’s most important benefactors, Howard Hollingsworth, was a prosperous business man, having set up the successful Bourne & Hollingsworth department store on London’s Oxford Street. Born in 1871, he became well-off and widely travelled. During one of his frequent visits to Lowestoft he bought the burned-out shell of Briar Clyffe, with its large grounds on Gunton Cliff. Captivated by the unrestricted view of the sea, he rebuilt and enlarged the house where he could now live in style, indulging in cars and speedboats, and employing seven staff to maintain the magnificent gardens and hothouses. We believe Howard Hollingsworth to have commissioned the panelling during these restorations in around 1911.
After the death of his close friend Nicholas (Henry) Everitt, Howard purchased Everitt’s estate and presented it to Lowestoft to be used as a public park, named in memory of Everitt. In 1928, as a thank you gesture, Lowestoft made him the first Freeman of the Borough. Howard died a bachelor in 1938. His ashes were scattered at sea, in sight of his beloved Briar Clyffe home, from his beloved sailing boat Telesia which he had earlier restored himself.
In 1981 Briar Clyffe opened as the Briar Independent School, becoming Lowestoft’s only private full time school. It closed in the early 2000s and the building was demolished in 2014. A development of luxury houses now occupies the site.
65 running ft.
(1) This is a reclaimed product.
(2) All measurements are approximate only.
(3) Pictures are representative of condition.